Upcoming events

Log in


 The First Stop for Paralegals in the First State

Log in

About the DPA

In 1976, a group of 16 paralegals assembled at what was then known as Prickett Ward Burt & Sanders to gauge the interest among paralegals to form an association in Delaware. As the structure and purpose of the association were to be determined by its participants, committees were appointed to research and advise on various factors including: forming a working relationship with the Delaware State Bar Association; contacting paralegals throughout the state to advise them of the newly forming association; and to develop an overall structure and function of the Association. In September of that year, 33 members were certified as "Charter" members of the Association.

The Association has grown steadily over the years and now boasts a membership of approximately 300 individuals. DPA continues to be the voice and advocate for paralegals in Delaware.


DPA Presidents

 1976-1977 Elizabeth Curtis Swain
 1977-1979 Carolyn McKown, RP
 1979-1980 Ann DeFelice
 1980-1981 Joni Peet
 1981-1982 Patricia Marinelli (Ward)
 1982-1985 Karen H. Schiller
 1985-1986 Paula Witherow (Caputo)
 1986-1988 Catherine D. Ledyard
 1988-1989 Jennifer Kenton (Binder)
 1989-1991 Cyndy M. Osborne
 1991-1993 Kim D. Root
 1993-1996 Siobain M. Perkins
 1996-1998 Barbara S. Wallace, RP
 1998-2001 Karyn S. Osmundson
 2001-2003 Douglas A. Hyde, RP
 2003-2005 Laura Ahtes, RP
 2005-2007 Lisa Vest
 2007-2009 Rob Alloway, DCP
 2009-2011 Anthony Iannini, AACP, DCP
 2011-2013 AlysonD . Poppiti, DCP
 2013-2015 Shannon J. Hamlin, DCP
 2015-2016 Alyson D. Poppiti, DCP
 2016-2017 Stephanie A. McConaghy, DCP
 2017-2018 Rose L. Green, DCP
 2018-2020 Michelle L. Granger, DCP 
 2020-present Stephanie A. McConaghy, DCP


The mission of the Delaware Paralegal Association is to promote and maintain high standards and ethics in the profession, to provide a forum for the exchange of information about the profession, to enhance the role of paralegals in the legal community and to encourage the continuing legal education of paralegals.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software